Treadstone Associates
Case File · Group Termination

A Saskatchewan group termination notice that stacked instead of replaced

The deal team budgeted the group filing and assumed it covered everyone. Saskatchewan's group notice runs in addition to individual notice, not instead of it — the opposite of the model this file's Ontario sibling case is built on.

Treadstone Associates · Updated 2026

At a glance

  • • Saskatchewan, share purchase of an equipment rental and servicing company for $11,600,000, 96 employees across two Saskatoon yards.
  • • The integration eliminated 29 positions at one yard inside a three-week window, crossing the group-termination threshold of 25 in The Saskatchewan Employment Act s.2-62(1).
  • • s.2-62(1) opens: “In addition to the requirements of section 2-60…” — the group notice stacks on top of individual notice, unlike Ontario's s.58, which replaces it once triggered.
  • • Notice under s.2-62(1) goes to three parties at once: the minister, each affected employee, and any applicable union.
  • • The specific length of the group notice itself is fixed by regulation under s.2-62(2)(b), not stated in the Act — not independently verified for this file; treat any specific week figure as unconfirmed until checked against the current Employment Standards Regulations.

The situation

A buyer acquired the shares of a Saskatoon equipment rental and servicing company operating out of two yards, 96 employees between them. The integration plan folded one yard's service function into the other, eliminating 29 positions inside a three-week window. The deal lead had closed a similar-sized Ontario reduction the year before, and carried the same mental model forward: once a group-notice filing is made, it is the number that governs, and the individual entitlement table stops mattering for that group. The model budgeted the group filing and nothing else for the 29.

The problem

The Saskatchewan Employment Act does not build its group-notice section the way Ontario's ESA does. s.2-62(1) opens: “In addition to the requirements of section 2-60 but subject to subsection (3), an employer who intends to terminate the employment of 25 or more employees in a workplace within any four-week period shall give written notice of that intention, in accordance with subsection (2), to each of the following: (a) the minister; (b) each employee whose employment will be terminated; (c) if applicable, a union that is the bargaining agent of any employees whose employment will be terminated.” “In addition to” is the opposite word from Ontario's “Despite section 57” in ESA s.58(1), which explicitly displaces the individual notice table the moment the group section engages — see two sites, one municipality, and a group termination. In Saskatchewan, the individual obligation under section 2-60 and the group notice under section 2-62 are two separate duties, and s.2-62(3) confirms they run on the same clock rather than one replacing the other: “The notice required pursuant to subsection (1) may be given concurrently with the notice required pursuant to section 2-60.” Concurrently is not instead of.

The numbers

Twenty-nine crosses the section's own floor: “an employer who intends to terminate the employment of 25 or more employees in a workplace within any four-week period”. The deal model had priced the group filing as the whole cost of the reduction and treated the individual, length-of-service-based entitlement each of the 29 was separately owed under section 2-60 as subsumed by it. On this file's own illustrative facts — a mixed-tenure group averaging roughly six weeks of individual entitlement each, at an average weekly wage of $1,140 — the individual-notice line the model had zeroed out was worth approximately $198,360 across the 29, entirely separate from whatever the group filing itself required.

The rule that decided it

The three-party notice list is itself a structural marker of the stacking design. s.2-62(2) requires the written notice to “(a) must specify: (i) the number of employees whose employment will be terminated; (ii) the effective date or dates of their terminations; and (iii) the reasons for the terminations; and (b) must be given within the prescribed period.” That notice runs to the minister, to each affected employee directly, and to any applicable union all at once — a broader distribution than Ontario's filing-with-the-Director model, and one that puts the employee on notice of the group reason and date independently of whatever their own individual notice under section 2-60 separately requires.

What section 2-62 itself does not state is the length of the group notice period. Paragraph (2)(b) defers to “the prescribed period” — a regulation under the Employment Standards Regulations, not a figure written into the Act. That regulation was not independently fetched for this file, and no specific week count for the Saskatchewan group notice itself is asserted here. What is sourced directly from the Act, and is the point this file turns on regardless of the regulation's exact figure, is that satisfying section 2-62 does not touch the separate obligation under section 2-60 at all.

The outcome

The group notice was filed with the minister, served on the 29 affected employees, and copied to the union representing a subset of the yard's unionized technicians. Individual notice under section 2-60 was then calculated and paid separately, on the deal's own corrected model, rather than being treated as satisfied by the group filing.

What it would have cost otherwise

Had the group filing been treated as the whole of the employer's obligation — the Ontario-style assumption the deal lead started from — the roughly $198,360 of individual entitlement under section 2-60 for the 29 would have gone unpaid at closing, discovered only when the first complaint reached the employer, by which point every one of the 29 had already been terminated and no working-notice option remained.

The tell

The tell was the deal model's own line item: one row, “group termination notice,” carrying the whole cost of the reduction. A section that opens “in addition to” another section is telling the reader, in its own first four words, that there are two obligations here, not one folded into the other.

Takeaways

  • • The Saskatchewan Employment Act s.2-62(1) group-termination notice is expressly “in addition to the requirements of section 2-60” — it stacks on individual notice rather than replacing it, the reverse of Ontario's s.58.
  • • s.2-62(3) confirms the two run concurrently rather than as alternatives: the group notice “may be given concurrently with the notice required pursuant to section 2-60,” not instead of it.
  • • The 25-employee, four-week trigger sends notice to three parties at once — the minister, each affected employee, and any applicable union — broader than a filing-with-a-regulator model.
  • • The Act itself does not state the group notice's own length; s.2-62(2)(b) defers to “the prescribed period” under regulation, which was not independently verified for this file.
  • • Do not carry an Ontario assumption that a group-notice filing subsumes individual entitlements into a Saskatchewan file. Check whether the group section's own opening words say “instead of” or “in addition to.”

Sources

  • • The Saskatchewan Employment Act, SS 2013, c S-15.1 — s.2-60 (individual notice, referenced but not quoted here); s.2-62(1) (the 25-employee, four-week group-termination trigger and the three-party notice list); s.2-62(2) (contents and the prescribed period); s.2-62(3) (concurrency with section 2-60).
  • • Two sites, one municipality, and a group termination — the Ontario version of this mechanic, where the group notice replaces the individual notice table rather than running alongside it.
  • • Not verified for this file: the specific length of notice the Employment Standards Regulations prescribe under section 2-62(2)(b). Secondary commentary describes tiered periods scaling with group size, but that regulation was not independently fetched, and no week figure for it is asserted here.

See where AI pays off first in your business.

A 30-minute call is enough to tell you whether AI pays for itself here.

The Canadian benchmark

What do businesses like this one actually sell for?

Canadian small-business transaction data is not published anywhere, so most valuations in this country quote an American benchmark. The Deavo–Treadstone Acquisition Index is a daily record of Canadian listings built to replace that: asking-price distributions by province and city are published now, and days on market, departure rates and asking-to-sale spreads follow as the series lengthens. Leave an email and we will tell you as each measure lands.

No pitch, no listings. One email when the first report lands.