The client
A family of four in Edmonton, both parents working on employer-supported work permits, eleven months after landing. Two children, ages three and seven. The income was real and verifiable. One line of it was not income at all.
Purchase price
$398,000
New build, never occupied, southeast Edmonton
Down payment
$19,900 — 5%
The minimum at this price
Employment income
$7,400/month gross
Both salaried, permits valid three years
Status
Temporary residents, 11 months in Canada
Permanent residence not yet applied for
Housing costs
$285 property tax, $105 heat
Builder’s estimate and lender convention
Other debt
$195 vehicle, $60 card minimum
Both opened since arrival
The problem
The family’s own budget, and then the first mortgage submission, included $1,253 a month of Canada child benefit — the two published maximums for the July 2026 to June 2027 benefit year added together: $679.75 a month for a child under six and $573.58 for a child aged six to seventeen. Neither figure was invented. Both were wrong for this household, for two separate reasons.
Two independent problems with the same number
- ▸Eligibility. A temporary resident qualifies only after living in Canada for the previous 18 months and holding a valid permit in the 19th month that does not state ‘does not confer status’ or ‘does not confer temporary resident status’. At month eleven the family was not there yet, had never received a payment, and had no benefit notice to produce.
- ▸Amount. Even once eligible, the published maximums apply only where adjusted family net income is under $38,237; above that the benefit is reduced. This household’s employment income alone is well past that threshold.
- ▸The provincial layer follows the federal one. A family is automatically considered for the Alberta Child and Family Benefit when it files a return and qualifies for the Canada child benefit — so no federal entitlement meant no provincial supplement either.
None of this is exotic. It is the ordinary consequence of the rule that qualifying income must be income the applicant is actually entitled to receive and can document. A benefit that has never been paid, cannot yet be applied for, and would be reduced if it were, is not income. The lender removed it, and the file failed on the ratios it had passed with it.
The numbers
Strip out $1,253 a month and the same purchase moves from comfortable to declined. The structure had to change, not the price.
| The 25-year structure, as first submitted | Amount |
|---|---|
| Purchase price | $398,000 |
| Down payment (5%) | −$19,900 |
| Base mortgage (95% LTV) | $378,100 |
| Default-insurance premium — 4.00% in the 90.01–95% LTV band | +$15,124 |
| Total insured mortgage | $393,224 |
The same purchase, three ways
| Scenario | Income counted | Qualifying payment | GDS | TDS |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 years, benefit income included | $8,653 | $2,632 | 34.9% | 37.9% |
| 25 years, employment income only | $7,400 | $2,632 | 40.8% | 44.3% |
| 30 years, employment income only | $7,400 | $2,465 | 38.6% | 42.0% |
Qualifying uses the minimum qualifying rate of 6.49% — the 4.49% contract rate plus two points. Over 25 years on $393,224 that is $2,632 a month; with $285 of property tax and a $105 heat estimate, gross debt service is 40.8% on verified income, past the 39% maximum, and the $195 vehicle payment and $60 card minimum take total debt service to 44.3%, past 44%. Both fail by a margin small enough to be maddening and large enough to be real.
The 30-year insured amortization is what closed the gap, and it was available here for a specific reason: an insured mortgage may run to 30 years where at least one borrower is a first-time buyer or the home is newly built and never before occupied. This home was a new build, so the question of the buyers’ ownership history abroad never had to be argued. It carries a 0.20 percentage-point premium surcharge — 4.20% rather than 4.00% — taking the premium from $15,124 to $15,880 and the insured mortgage to $393,980.
The surcharge costs $756 more in premium, financed into the mortgage. The 30-year amortization costs considerably more in interest over the life of the loan than the 25-year would have. Both were put in writing before the family chose, because a longer amortization is a real trade, not a free pass — see the 25-year versus 30-year comparison for the shape of that cost.
The solution
The Alberta mortgage associate, licensed by the Real Estate Council of Alberta, rebuilt the file from the income documents up rather than trying to defend the original submission.
The benefit line came out entirely. In its place went the two things that could be documented today: pay stubs and letters of employment for both parents, and the builder’s new-home documentation confirming the property had never been occupied for residential purposes. That second document is what unlocked the 30-year amortization, and it took one email to obtain.
The family was also told plainly what they could expect and when. The Canada child benefit becomes available to them once they have lived in Canada for the previous 18 months and hold a qualifying permit in the 19th month — roughly eight months out from the application. When it arrives it will be materially less than the maximums they had read about, because it is reduced against adjusted family net income above $38,237. Setting that expectation at the outset is part of the job on a new-to-Canada file, and it is a great deal easier to say before an approval than after a decline.
What was deliberately not done: no attempt to include the benefit as future income with a letter of explanation, and no shopping the same submission to a second lender in the hope that its calculator would treat the figure differently. The first would have been a misstatement; the second would have produced a second decline on the same facts.
The outcome & the closing math
Approved and funded on the new build: insured at 95% loan-to-value, 30-year amortization, five-year fixed, with gross debt service at 38.6% and total debt service at 42.0% on employment income alone. No benefit income was counted anywhere in the file.
The family will apply for the Canada child benefit when the 19-month test is met, and for the Alberta Child and Family Benefit, which flows from the same determination once a return is filed. Neither was needed to buy the house, which is the point — a file built only on income that can be documented today does not fall over when a benefit arrives late, or smaller than expected, or not at all.
| Cash due at closing (beyond the down payment) | Amount |
|---|---|
| Alberta land titles registration fees and legal costs | varies |
| Default-insurance premium | financed into the mortgage |
What to take from this file
- 01A temporary resident is not eligible for the Canada child benefit until month 19. The test is 18 consecutive months living in Canada plus a valid permit in the 19th month that does not state it confers no status — so on most newcomer files in the first year and a half, the benefit is simply not income.
- 02The published maximums are a floor-income figure, not an entitlement. They apply only where adjusted family net income is under $38,237; above it the benefit is reduced. A household earning enough to buy a house is rarely receiving the maximum.
- 03Provincial child benefits ride on the federal determination. Alberta’s supplement is assessed automatically on filing a return and qualifying federally, so a federal gap closes the provincial one too.
- 04A new build unlocks the 30-year insured amortization without arguing ownership history. Where a newcomer’s first-time-buyer status abroad is awkward to evidence, a never-occupied home reaches the same 30-year outcome — at a 0.20-point premium surcharge and materially more interest.
- 05Set the benefit expectation at application, not after the decline. Telling a newcomer family when the benefit starts, and roughly how much smaller it will be than the headline figure, is far easier before an approval than after one has been withdrawn.
Sources
Every regulatory figure in this file traces to one of these primary sources. Client details and anything that varies by lender are illustrative, as flagged below.
- ▸CMHC — Purchase (Mortgage Loan Insurance) — default-insurance premium schedule by LTV band (25-year amortization).
- ▸CMHC — CMHC Home Start — minimum down payment tiers (5%/10%) and the $1.5M insured price cap; 30-year insured amortization: first-time buyers and new builds only.
- ▸CMHC — CMHC Revises Homeowner Mortgage Loan Insurance Premiums — +0.20 percentage-point premium surcharge for a 30-year insured amortization.
- ▸OSFI — Minimum qualifying rate for uninsured mortgages — the minimum qualifying rate — greater of contract rate + 2% or 5.25%.
- ▸CMHC — CMHC Reviews Underwriting Criteria — GDS 39% / TDS 44% maximums and the 600 credit-score floor for insured files.
- ▸Provincial/territorial mortgage-broker legislation fetched directly (bclaws.gov.bc.ca, legisquebec.gouv.qc.ca, fcaa.gov.sk.ca, web2.gov.mb.ca, nslegislature.ca, assembly.nl.ca) plus FCNB's own site for NB and CanLII's index for PE — see notes for per-province method — provincial mortgage regulators and licence titles.
Illustrative in this file — lender-specific, not rules:
- ▸4.49% contract rate — rates move daily; not a quote.
- ▸$105/month heat estimate — each lender publishes its own heating convention.
- ▸$285/month property tax on a new build — a builder's first-year estimate; the assessment roll governs once the home is assessed.
Authority & provenance
How this case file was built
We publish the origin, the verification method and the reviewer for every case file, so you can judge how far to trust it before you rely on it with a client.
Where it comes from
Derived from files handled by Treadstone’s fulfillment desk and from scenarios contributed by partner brokerages. Names, employers, exact amounts and dates are changed so no client or file is identifiable.
Provenance: Composite — a pattern seen repeatedly on fulfilled files, not a single transaction.
What is verified
Every regulatory figure traces to a primary source listed above and was checked against it on the date shown. The arithmetic is recomputed by machine on every rebuild.
Anything that varies by lender is labelled illustrative rather than stated as a rule.
Who reviewed it
Reviewed for Canadian regulatory accuracy before publication, and re-checked whenever a cited rule changes.
Reviewed by: Nicholas Parson, Treadstone Associates — reviews every case file before publication.
This case file is professional reference material for licensed mortgage professionals. It is not advice to a borrower, and it is not a lender commitment. Insurer rules, qualifying rates and provincial taxes change — confirm the current position with the insurer, regulator or lender before you rely on any figure here in a live file.